A surgeon from Irkutsk became the winner of the «Man-Act» award in March

29.04.2021

Yuri Kozlov is considered one of the best pediatric surgeons in Russia: he saved several thousand lives by performing complex operations on newborns. +7 Fund awarded the professor with a prize after the news about the rescued child in Ulan-Ude.

The Man-Act Prize, established by the +7 Fund, has found its laureate for the ninth time. It was the world-renowned Irkutsk surgeon Yuri Kozlov. His latest surgery made a shortlist of four news headlines in March: 

  1. In Bashkiria, a paramedic rescued three children from a smoky house and extinguished a fire
  2. 5-graders rescued a man who fell out of a window near Voronezh
  3. Irkutsk surgeon Yuri Kozlov saved the life of a newborn boy in Ulan-Ude
  4. Bartender rescued three adults and a child from a gas explosion in a high-rise building in Khimki

+7 Fund monthly awards one hundred thousand rubles to the hero of one good news. This time, Olympic champion in rhythmic gymnastics Margarita Mamun helped us choose the winner using a random number generator. 

(video with the determination of the winner - https://www.instagram.com/p/CNcyAEVIolA/)

The prize was transferred from the +7 Fund to Yuri, and we also managed to talk with a specialist about his work:

«We dealt with a patient whose part of the esophagus was missing, - Yuri says about the operation in Ulan-Ude. - The upper segment ended blindly, and the lower one connected to the trachea. It was necessary to restore the patency of the esophagus. The patient from Buryatia was only two days old, but by our standards this is already an «old patient», we usually operate in the first hours of life. The operation was performed using minimally invasive surgery technologies, without incisions. Moreover, we performed such an operation for the first time in the country in 2003, and in America such an operation was performed for the first time only four years before».

In an interview with a representative of the Foundation, Yuri said that he plans to donate this award for his hospital to celebrate the 35th anniversary. The doctor admitted that he does this with most of the awards that are awarded to him. 

«Every time I come to work, I understand that our patients will outlive me. From this thought it becomes very joyful, - the doctor of medical sciences and a practicing surgeon since 1993 shares his secrets. - Major surgery is often a lengthy surgery, the operation in Ulan-Ude lasted almost six hours, two months ago I was in Uzbekistan and we performed 20 operations there in three days. Everything went well, but sports and a healthy lifestyle help for endurance. I understand that life is finite and you need to keep up with everything - within a year I got up on ice and roller skates, on a snowboard, got on a motorcycle. But this is not a tribute to fashion, I realized that I should also be an example of a healthy lifestyle. This does not mean that I should flex my muscles, but simply emit the light of a healthy person: be with a living mind and have normal body proportions».

Победителем премии «Человек-Поступок» в марте стал хирург из Иркутска

29.04.2021

Юрия Козлова считают одним из лучших детских хирургов России: он спас несколько тысяч жизней, выполняя сложные операции новорожденным. Фонд +7 наградил профессора премией после новости о спасенном ребенке в Улан-Удэ.

Премия «Человек-Поступок», учрежденная фондом +7,  нашла своего лауреата в девятый раз. Им стал иркутский хирург с мировым именем Юрий Козлов. Новость о его очередной операции попала в шорт-лист из четырех новостных заголовков в марте: 

  1. В Башкирии фельдшер спасла троих детей из задымленного дома и потушила пожар
  2. Под Воронежем 5-классники спасли выпавшего из окна мужчину
  3. Иркутский хирург Юрий Козлов спас жизнь новорожденному мальчику в Улан-Удэ
  4. Бармен спас троих взрослых и ребенка при взрыве газа в многоэтажке в Химках

Фонд +7 ежемесячно награждает премией в сто тысяч рублей героя одной хорошей новости. В этот раз выбрать победителя при помощи генератора случайных чисел нам помогла Олимпийская чемпионка по художественной гимнастике Маргарита Мамун. 

Видео с определением победителя смотрите в нашем Instagram.

От Фонда +7 Юрию была переведена премия, а также нам удалось поговорить со специалистом о его работе:

«Мы имели дело с пациентом, у которого часть пищевода отсутствовала, - рассказывает Юрий об операции в Улан-Удэ. - Верхний сегмент заканчивался слепо, а нижний - соединялся с трахеей. Было необходимо восстановить проходимость пищевода. Пациенту из Бурятии было всего два дня, но по нашим меркам это уже «старый пациент», обычно мы оперируем в первые часы жизни. Операция выполнялась с использованием технологий малоинвазивной хирургии, без разрезов. Причем мы выполнили такую операцию впервые в стране в 2003 году, а в Америке такую операцию в первый раз сделали всего-лишь за четыре года до этого».

В беседе с представителем Фонда Юрий сказал, что планирует передать эту премию для своей больницы на празднование 35-летнего юбилея. Врач признался, что так он поступает с большинством премий, которыми его награждают. 

«Каждый раз, когда я прихожу на работу, я понимаю, что наши пациенты переживут меня. От этой мысли становится очень радостно, - делится своими секретами доктор медицинских наук и практикующий хирург с 1993 года. - Большая хирургия - это часто длительная хирургия, операция в Улан-Удэ длилась почти шесть часов, два месяца назад я был в Узбекистане и мы выполнили там 20 операций за три дня. Все прошли успешно, но для выносливости помогают занятия спортом и здоровый образ жизни. Я понимаю, что жизнь конечна и нужно успевать все - в течение года я встал на ледовые и роликовые коньки, на сноуборд, сел на мотоцикл. Но это не дань моде, я понял, что я должен быть примером еще и здорового образа жизни. Это не значит, что я должен играть мускулами, а просто излучать свет здорового человека: быть при живом уме и иметь нормальные пропорции тела».